Talkative Bunch

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by juc162, Aug 28, 2007.

1. juc162

juc162 Companion

Aug 28, 2007

Hi everyone! I am a first year teacher and Monday was my first day of school. I have found my students to be incredibly chatty and I shouldn't need to talk over them. They are great for about half the day and really noisy for the other half and it's really on or off. What are some good strategies that you all use? I need to come up with something fast so that I don't lose control of my class!

Also, I've been doing lots of procedures and fun type first days of school games but I did notice that during math which we had an actual lesson for today, they were fine.

3. cMcD

cMcD Groupie

Aug 28, 2007

If you're doing fun activities they're naturally going to be chatty, versus teaching a lesson (I've found at least).

Be very firm. I put on my "teacher" face and say "I'll wait" or "I'm sorry, am I interrupting conversations?" or "I like how _____ is working quietly. Thank you _____."

I also have my student rate themselves 0 - 10 on how they think they are behaving as a class. This morning they were good and gave themselves a 7-8, this afternoon they gave themselves a 2-3. Everyday I start out by saying, "I hope today is a 10!"

I also have a marble jar. When they're all working quietly I say "I like how everyone is working quietly" and I put in a couple marbles. Once they fill the marble jar we'll have a party.

I've learned that it's about training them, and getting them used to the procedures. I also do Give Me 5. If they're too loud I ring a bell.

Mine seem to get chatty after lunch/recess. We have read aloud after lunch so they can calm down. It isn't working too well so I'm planning on doing read aloud, then having them do DEAR time after that.

4. Mrs.Bran

Mrs.Bran Comrade

Aug 28, 2007