Taking the PPST1 (PRAXIS) in OHIO

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by cnt_w8t_2tech, Nov 9, 2005.

1. cnt_w8t_2tech

cnt_w8t_2tech Rookie

Nov 9, 2005

I am going to take the PRAXIS 1 on Monday and I am so scared to do that. I am trying to study up on my math because that is the part that scares me the most. I think that it is becasue I took it back when I was a freshman. I have put this test off until now and now it is either suck it up and take it or not be able to student teach next fall.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Nov 10, 2005

If you're studying from a standard prep book, it probably overstates the math - I know that all the books for CBEST go into a lot more algebra and geometry than are on the real test. You might want to look for books in Princeton Review's KNOW IT ALL! MATH series - they explain the concepts decently and include practice questions, along with some occasionally mind-boggling bits of trivia. For math review, I like MATH ON CALL and Usborne's DICTIONARY OF MATH.

4. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Nov 10, 2005

Don't be too stressed. It's a basic knowledge test. I'm not understanding why you're taking it again if you took it when you were a freshman? Did you not meet the state cut off scores?

5. cnt_w8t_2tech

cnt_w8t_2tech Rookie

Nov 10, 2005

I just reread what I wrote and I did not write the right thing. What I ment to say was that I had taken math in my freshman year and that is why I am so afraid of the math. I am so stressed that I can not even write down the right thing and I am not even taking a test.

6. cnt_w8t_2tech

cnt_w8t_2tech Rookie

Nov 10, 2005

Thanks I will check that out and see what I come up with. I have a study guide that they gave us at the student center but it is not helping.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Nov 10, 2005

Got questions? Ask 'em here!

8. aksunshine

aksunshine Rookie

Dec 2, 2005

Praxis I