Taking off on test day? Help!!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by historyteacher09, Feb 14, 2017.

1. historyteacher09

historyteacher09 Rookie

Feb 14, 2017

I am a first year teacher who started in January at a great school and have a question! I teach 8th grade history!

I have been feeling pretty rough the past few days, I'm mentally and physically exausted and have been slowly getting sick over the course of the week. I am wondering, if it is totally horrible to take a sick day when the students are suppose to take a test? I have a test planned for Thursday and while I am going to tomorrow to review for the test, I am wondering if it is a horrible idea to have a sub on a test day?

Thank you in advance!

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Feb 14, 2017

Can you delay the test for a day? Subs usually don't monitor as closely as I do. I only leave tests if I can't postpone them and I'm too sick to care. :)

SpecialPreskoo likes this.
  4. historyteacher09

historyteacher09 Rookie

Feb 14, 2017

I've already move it back a day due to student unpreparedness/ more time to reinforce concepts! I couldn't move it back further! In my mind, test day would be easy for me to miss... since I would have to stress little and plan nothing... but I'm a first year so not sure if that is wise!! Haha, thanks for your advice!

5. MLB711

MLB711 Comrade

Feb 15, 2017