Take a number?

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by fifthmonkee, Nov 15, 2006.

1. fifthmonkee

fifthmonkee Rookie

Nov 15, 2006

I'm sorry to pepper this forum with questions, but here's one more.

When I am helping students during classwork time, other students inevitably interrupt me with their own questions/complaints/needs. Somehow they seem to think I'm not "working" if I'm not lecturing. Anyhow, it can be quite maddening, and I'm afraid I lose my temper at times or at least show annoyance. "Do you see I'm talking to someone?" I'll ask with an edge in my voice.

Sometimes I've got so many students around me that I can't keep track of who asked what in what order. When I move from one to the other, I get complaints that "you said I was next!"

As I've indicated in other posts, this is my first year with a difficult group of students and I am struggling with classroom management.

I'm almost ready to bring in a deli-style number thing, and have students take a number during classwork time, so I can get back to them in some kind of orderly and reasonable fashion. I'm only half-joking.

Any advice?

3. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Nov 15, 2006

I saw this posted here by some one:

make a few discovery bottles (cleaned out water bottles with clear karo syrup and little things like plastic dolphins, glitter, blue food color glue on lid : or sand with little shells glue on lid) put a few in a basket next to your desk have the students take one if they need help, once they are all gone the students need to wait until one is returned (have about 3-4) but the students can be looking at them while they have to wait for your help.

4. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Nov 15, 2006