Taecher Assistant or subbing

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by koop, Aug 12, 2007.

1. koop

koop Rookie

Aug 12, 2007

I have an interview for a teacher assistant position on Wednesday, but am unsure because I have heard that once you are a teacher assistant schools don't want to hire you. Has anyone had this experience before? My only other option at this point is to contiue subbing for the three school districts that I have been subbing for for the last two years and getting nowhere with. The only good thing about getting the teacher assistant position is that my college will allow me to do my practicuum in thsi position. If I get offered the position it would be very hard not to accept it because their are no other great alternatives for me. Does anyone know what types of interview questions they ask for this position? I want to do well because after all it is one of the districts I ma currently subbing in. It is the one I was recently hired to work in ( April) verus the other two that if I worked for again would be three years subbing in. :down: Getting a job is so difficult and I envy anyone who has gotten one. they are so lucky. I would give anything to ahve my own classroom at this point.

3. koop

koop Rookie

Aug 12, 2007

Sorry about my typing errors.

4. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Aug 12, 2007

I would take it, at least for the upcoming year. If you don't like it you can always go back to subbing

5. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Aug 12, 2007

I worked as an interpreter/assistant. That staff had a hard time seeing me as anything but an assistant.

Some principals think, "if teaching is what they really want, then why are they assisting?"

So my advice is to sub. You get to meet lots of principals and staff, and you can see what schools you really like.

6. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Aug 12, 2007