Table/Group Reward System???

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by hopetoteach, Oct 21, 2007.

1. hopetoteach

hopetoteach Rookie

Oct 21, 2007

Help! I am a student teacher (2nd grade) and I am really struggling to find out what works with my class. I am considering a table/group reward system (I have six groups of four). I would list group numbers on board. As we go through the day, I would give a star to those groups that I notice doing an exceptional job following class rules (e.g., true whisper voices during math journal time, giving me their attention quickly when I give the signal, etc). When a group gets to ten stars they would receive a reward of some kind. Has anyone tried something like this?

I'm having a bit of trouble determining a reward that would be valuable to them and reasonable. My host teacher suggested lunch in the classroom with me, first to go out to recess, or maybe I buy them popcorn on "Popcorn Thursdays".

Any suggestions or comments will help. Thanks!!

3. GrandHighWitch

GrandHighWitch Companion

Oct 21, 2007

My cooperating teacher for student teaching did this, and I do it with my class now. During student teaching, we let the winning table choose a reward such as an extra recess, McDonald's for lunch in the classroom, a prize from the teacher's prize bin, etc. Some of the rewards only worked well because there were two teachers around - one of us could take them out for the extra recess or run to McDonald's right before lunch.

Now that I've got my own classroom, that doesn't work out so well, so I had to find different rewards. The first time I changed the seating arrangement, I bought pizza for the winning group, and we had a little pizza party in the room during lunch. That would get expensive if you did it all the time though, so just eating lunch in the room with you or doing popcorn would be better. You could have popcorn and a video in the room during lunch; kids always love that kind of stuff.

4. synapse