Switching grade levels?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by kstar03, Oct 21, 2008.

1. kstar03

kstar03 Companion

Oct 21, 2008

How difficult can it be to switch from the middle school level to the high school level? I'm a first year teacher and although I love my students, my fellow staff members, and the administration, a part of me misses teaching at the high school level (where I did my student teaching). Is it better for me to put in a few years at this level and then hope a high school will give me a chance or should I switch at the end of the year so I don't get "pigeon holed"? Any advice would be appreciated!

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 21, 2008

I know that here it is exceptionally difficult to get into the high schools, particularly from the elementary panel. My sense, though, is that it is not as difficult elsewhere.

4. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Oct 21, 2008

I moved from MS to HS through a series of improbable events, and I'm much happier. I loved my admin and my colleagues at the MS, but the fact it you spend almost your entire day with your students, and I much prefer my seniors. They're almost people!

5. wunderwhy

wunderwhy Comrade

Oct 21, 2008

I moved from middle to high school after my first year. The atmosphere was undesirable in my first school, so I wasn't willing to return no matter what. I was given special permission to skip the three year waiting period to transfer.

If I were you, I'd look into moving up to high school: send out resumes, attend job fairs, apply to transfer (if possible), etc. If it works out, great. If you don't get an offer that you'd prefer to your current position, then put in a few more years with middle school (imagine how nice it would be to use the same lesson plans next year!).

Middle school was not for me, undesirable atmosphere aside. I much prefer the higher level thinking and maturity of high school students.

6. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Oct 21, 2008