Switching Grade Levels

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by BB0211, Jan 21, 2008.

1. BB0211

BB0211 Companion

Jan 21, 2008

This is my first year teaching and I am in 3rd grade. There is one other first-year teacher who was an aide last year (so her second year in the school).

The prinicipal came in and told our whole team that one of us (5 teammates total) would have to either switch to 2nd or 4th grade, because of low numbers coming into 3rd next year. She said "discuss it together and let me know what you come up with"

I went to the other new teacher (because it will ultimately most likely be between us two) to see what she thought and she basically said she wasn't moving, almost in an entitled manner. (She's gotten used to this grade level and next year is HER year to improve and shine, blah blah)
    I agreed and said I felt the same that I did not want to leave either, but said if I had to I would (she did not offer the same feelings of being okay with it)

She then stated that it would probably be whoever signed the contract first (being her because she was an aide).
    I simply shared my opinion that I hope they choose the teacher who is most fit for the grade and grade level team.

She is not giving in and I don't think I should have to either. I am extremely fortunate for the job and LOVE the school, but I feel that I have really contributed to the grade level as a whole. (I spent extra hours creating activities, lessons, etc. and shared with the whole team, which they implemented.) I also feel my personality is really fit for this age of students. It feels natural.

The way I look at it is....I was chosen by this team/administration at random from thousands of candidates all competing for the position. She kinda already had a foot in the door (an advantage). So I am hoping they feel the same way and recognize these factors.

Any suggestions on how to handle this situation? Any connections?

3. MsTeacher98

MsTeacher98 Companion

Jan 22, 2008