Switching from Sped to Gen Ed

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by ZoomZoomZOOM, Dec 22, 2020.

1. ZoomZoomZOOM

ZoomZoomZOOM Devotee

Dec 22, 2020

First of all, HELLO A-Z! LTNS! I actually found a very old thread of mine from March 2010 when I was doing an old blog post search. So cool to be back! Love an old school forum! Facebook is so public anymore and sometimes you need answers without anyone knowing who you are. ;-)

Anyway - - I've been teaching sped now for 13 years in the same district. I'd always had qualms about our sped department and the way we're treated by peers, etc. But this year really takes the cake. I teach K-2 self-contained - this my 10th year in this position. I find myself very angry this year and it's really come to a head. It started when teachers were given a choice between teaching remote or hybrid. I chose hybrid. The 3-5 teacher in our building chose remote. So the only thing our sped dept could come up with - was that I teach K-5 hybrid.

Long story short - it's been an extremely stressful year for me for a lot of different reasons. At one point, I was actually ready to quit my job. A job that I loved. Just quit. I was so absolutely frustrated - - not with my building - but with the sped department for putting me in this position. I was angry because no gen ed teacher would ever be expected to teach that many grade levels in our district. I'm just so bitter you guys... You have no idea. (Heck, maybe you do. I'm kind of preaching to the choir here, aren't I?)