Switching from gen. Ed to special Ed.

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Jennifer Livergood, Aug 15, 2020.

1. Jennifer Livergood

Jennifer Livergood New Member

Aug 15, 2020

I recently came across an opportunity to use my second certification, secondary special Ed at the school I already teach at. My problem is I have been sped certified for 8 years, but have remained a general education teacher. I am torn between doing what I have done for 11 years now, or switching to the sped teacher for our high school. I have no real experience in being the sped teacher, it would be a completely new experience for me.
    I feel uncomfortable or perhaps unconfident with this change but I would like to explore this, and make myself a more well rounded teacher in the process.

Have any of you made the switch from general education to special education at the secondary level? If so, what advice do you have for my decision on this?

3. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Aug 16, 2020

Not in secondary, but I have taught both gen ed and sped. Since you mention being "the sped teacher for your high school," do you mean you would be the only one? If so, that's pretty crazy. It must be an extremely small school?

I would definitely talk to the person who used to be in the position at length about pros and cons and what the job is really like. Most gen ed teachers think my job is easier than theirs because I teach small groups. They don't know the half of it. I think it would also be very difficult for you having no experience and being the only sped teacher- who are you going to ask questions to/who is going to help you figure out the new job? Some of the elementary buildings in my district have only one teacher, but at least they can talk to teachers from other buildings. Around here at least, there is only one HS per district so you wouldn't even have that option.

I would consider the following questions: