Supply list help!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Mommyserenity, Jul 13, 2010.

1. Mommyserenity

Mommyserenity Devotee

Jul 13, 2010

I am brand new to a small, private school this year. I have 12 students in my room this year :)

I have to get my supply list done ASAP so that students can bring their items to open house on July 29th.

This is what I have come up with so far:

2 Dozen #2 pencils (yellow, Ticonderoga brand)
    1 box of crayons
    1 box of colored pencils
    1 box of Washable Markers
    1 bottles liquid school glue ( 4 ounces)
    8-10 glue sticks (Elmer’s)
    1 pair Fiskar scissors (blunt edge)
    2 black Expo dry erase markers
    1 Ruler
    1 pencil box
    1 composition notebook

2 boxes of Kleenex
    1 bottle of liquid hand-washing soap
    1 box of sandwich-size Zip-loc bags
    1 Box of gallon-size Zip-loc bags
    2 rolls paper towels

What about adding a folder for homework etc?? Is this too much to ask parents to bring?

3. cityfrog6

cityfrog6 Comrade

Jul 13, 2010

I would separate the Zip loc bags - girls bring the sandwich size and boys bring the gallon size.
    I would add spiral notebooks for math journals ( I used them for word problems - helped a lot to have them all in one place). One or two should be enough for the year.

And maybe some more crayons. I know we used more than one box - they tend to break throughout the year.

Oh and definitely some folders to send home work daily or weekly.

HTH!

4. amakaye

amakaye Enthusiast

Jul 13, 2010

I think you could easily add a folder--those usually cost less than a quarter.

On my list, I put things like soap, ziploc bags, paper plates, and plastic utensiles as a "wish list" on the bottom. Almost all the parents send several items off that, but that way they don't feel they have to bring it if they can't afford to. If I run out during the year, I just put a note in the newsletter. (I do keep Kleenex on the regular supply list. :) )

5. Mommyserenity