Supervisor expects 100% of students to pass state test?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms.Science, Sep 8, 2010.

1. Ms.Science

Ms.Science Rookie

Sep 8, 2010

Is this a normal expectation?

3. txteach2b

txteach2b Comrade

Sep 8, 2010

Not @ my school, especially w/ special needs & ELLs. I can understand if they want everyone but them to pass. If I were you, I would definitely check back with the principal.

4. Ms.Science

Ms.Science Rookie

Sep 8, 2010

Just wanted to mention: I'm new to teaching (career change) and I'm new to the state. I'm just wondering if this is a red-flag...

5. TeacherApr

TeacherApr Groupie

Sep 8, 2010

LOL sorry not laughing at you but rather at the absurdness (is that a word?!) of this expectation. Let's be realistic, expecting a 100% pass rate is way too much to ask and would never happen.

I would double check that as well. When you ask about if it's a red flag, are you thinking that it's possible that you and other teachers are being expected to "cheat"?

6. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Sep 9, 2010

We have this expectation, it comes from NCLB expecting all public schools to have 100% of students passing the test by 2014. So, why not get there now?

While we have that expectation, it hasn't happened, yet. We get VERY close, but we have such a tiny population that 1 or 2 students not meeting the mark has significant effects on our data.

7. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 9, 2010

So, your administration expects that your students reading at a second grade level to increase nine grade levels in one year. This, after they have already been in school for 7+ years.

Another reason why all public schools will be failing schools by 2014. According to the requirements of NCLB)