Super Nervous

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by jnation, Aug 3, 2005.

1. jnation

jnation Companion

Aug 3, 2005

I just had reality hit me. I start new teacher orientation on the 10th and school starts on the 17th. I am so nervous. The first day I can get into my classroom is the 10th. Just thought I would share my nervousness.

3. teacherbell

teacherbell Cohort

Aug 3, 2005

Hi jnation, I am a new teacher also. I have been feeling the "butterflies" for a few days now. I know that once I am actually teaching I will feel better but the anticipation is really hard. I met some of the teachers that I will be working with and they seem to be a pretty tight knit group so I am a little nervous about finding my place. I am sure they we are all going to be fine. But know that you are not alone in feeling nervous!

4. srh

srh Devotee

Aug 3, 2005

I second that motion! :-D I am feeling like a roller coaster these days--some days I wake up and I am excited and anxious to go...other days I find I am overwhelmed. I keep telling myself, I'm not doing this alone; I have good support (BTSA helps!); I have spent the past three years studying and training; and after all, even veteran teachers face new challenges on a frequent basis.

I agree that once we get in the classroom, and find a routine, it will be much better. For now, we newbies have no clue about the kids we'll have, the overall staff we'll work with, or whether we'll be able to meet all those critical "standards" every day. Gosh--it's amazing that so many people choose to do this to themselves every summer!! :eek:

5. katerina03

katerina03 Devotee

Aug 4, 2005

What grades are you teaching?

6. jnation

jnation Companion

Aug 4, 2005