Sunday Night Anxiety

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Rex2011, Oct 11, 2015.

1. Rex2011

Rex2011 Rookie

Oct 11, 2015

Good evening all,

I have been teaching for 4 years now, but continue to fight this battle with Sunday night anxiety (as well as waking up stressed and anxious every weekday morning). This anxiety stems from negative past experiences from student disrespect over the years. Since year one, I've been poisoned, mocked, and ridiculed. Last year, a student was mad at me and decided to get her friends and get them to go against me. I wouldn't let her go to the bathroom, but she failed to let me know that it was an emergency; so her and her mom got upset at me. The wolf pack mentality sunk in, and I am still dealing with it this year. I find that half of my students don't like me (I am trying to find out why). I am not a popular teacher in my small school of 600 students. I teach foreign language, and found that a group of students who would have had me for year 2 dropped my class and went to the other more popular FL teacher. I try so hard not to take it personal. Those that are loyal to the student that is mad at me try to shake me.

My other issue is that the subject I teach has lost its luster...does anyone else lose interest in what they teach from time to time?

What recommendations could you make me so that I stop worrying about 'what's going to happen?' Overall, I still enjoy teaching at the school because of the good kids (even though they act good, I know that some of them still don't respect me). How can I build popularity?

I am also going to seek psych help. I was picked on a lot when I was in school, and I think that stems in to my anxiety.

Thanks.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 11, 2015

What s your classroom mgt like? What s your relationship/reputation with admin?

4. Rex2011

Rex2011 Rookie

Oct 11, 2015