summer school

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by bigv, Oct 7, 2018.

1. bigv

bigv Rookie

Oct 7, 2018

I realize as even as an elementary teacher I may have to do summer school. That's about a week after school is out. Let's assume this is in Northern CA between Sacramento and Merced where I live, including anywhere in between (eg Tracy and Modesto especially). In that week, will I still be able to vacation like visit somewhere out of state or does it HAVE to be preparation for summer school? For the record they stopped doing elementary summer school in Modesto for my school 15 years ago.

3. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Oct 7, 2018

Why do you think you would have to do summer school? Is this written into your contract? Have other teachers said this?

CA has unions, right? So I can't imagine you being in a situation where you HAVE to do summer school unless it's a charter school. Even so, you should have been told this up front. I always did summer school and then several years ago my district got rid of it due to budget cuts. I enjoyed it because it was a lot easier than the regular school year, yet I actually got paid more for my time than I did in the regular year. The schedule was also much shorter (typically half days- one district even did half days 3 days per week), so it still felt like a "break" to me over the regular school year.

In the districts I've worked in, there was competition for these positions because people wanted the extra money. Even if that's not the case where you are, no one should be saying that you have to do summer school. Check with the union if you have questions.

4. bigv

bigv Rookie

Oct 7, 2018

Oh. Well for what it’s worth I want to be an elementary teacher. What district do you teach in? What city and state? I mean you saw but I’m talking about the north and central CA region between Sacramento and Merced.

5. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Oct 7, 2018