Summer prep for a new 7th grade math teacher

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by robinsky, Jul 6, 2008.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Jul 6, 2008

I have a job for this fall teaching 7th grade math, some sections of pre-algebra and some of pre-algebra advanced. Before school was out for summer I was able to get all the textbooks and materials, but I'm uncertain how to prepare. I don't know the exact curriculum difference between the two levels, I don't know if I'll have my own classroom or what my schedule will be, and I don't know what the pacing will be. I won't know any of this until a week or two before school starts! I did my student teaching at the high school level, so middle school will be new for me. I'm a brand-new teacher and I like to be prepared, but I don't know where to start! Any words of wisdom for me? Should I be working away this summer, or just relax until I have more info?

3. LCFMOM

LCFMOM Rookie

Jul 6, 2008

It seems to me that the best place to start is chapter 1 in the lower level book. Assume that the whole book will be taught during one school year (check the state standards for what is to be taught in 7th grade pre-algebra and match that up with the textbook.) Assume 30 (real) teaching weeks...so if there are 15 chapters, you can assume two weeks per chapter. You didn't mention if your school uses blocks or 55 minute hours or whatever, but you should be able to ask someone how many teaching hours per week you get for your classes. Then you can figure out how many hours you get to teach each chapter. I would create lesson plans for a few chapters in the lowest level book. Then do the process over for the higher level book. I don't know if the higher level starts at a different place in algebra (it assumes the student knows certain concepts that you have to teach to the lower level) so that's why I would start with the lower level book.