Summer Jobs for Teachers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ExcitedNewbie, Feb 1, 2015.

1. ExcitedNewbie

ExcitedNewbie Rookie

Feb 1, 2015

Hi, I am a first year teacher who is looking for a summer job mid-June to mid-August. Are there any programs, camps, or exchanges that you have enjoyed working on over the summer? I appreciate the suggestions.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Feb 1, 2015

Every year, I either teach ESY (a program for moderate-to-severe SPED students for the purpose of skill maintenance) or the summer school program at my school. I also have done curriculum development for my district.

4. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Feb 1, 2015

I've taught summer school and worked at a camp. I much preferred summer school because it was half day four days a week and I got paid probably double than what I did at camp. Camp was 8 weeks- my entire summer, and I made less money. I would do summer school again this year but unfortunately I have to do a summer practicum for my masters program. So instead of getting paid to teach summer school I'm going to pay to do the same sort of work at my college :(

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Feb 1, 2015

I prefer to teach summer school at my school, because I get my daily rate, and I know it's a sure 5 weeks paycheck. Other districts won't pay as much, so why do the same (or more) work for less money, unless I had no other options?
    The year before I subbed at our juvenile hall, I liked, because I was getting my daily rate, and I didn't have to plan or even grade, I just showed up and the work was super easy. But it's not for 5 weeks. The upside was that I worked here and there 2-3 weeks so I didn't feel like my summer was all work, but the money was less as well.
    I'm hoping I can teach summer school again.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 1, 2015

I work on my tan and having time with friends and family....and I tutor a few hours to buy sandals and tropical drinks.