Summer Camp - Engaging Students all Day: Advice?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Luke8Ball, Dec 2, 2013.

1. Luke8Ball

Luke8Ball Rookie

Dec 2, 2013

Hi Everyone!

I'm a graduate student in math, and this summer I'll be teaching gifted middle-schoolers in a 18-day intensive program in math. I have experience teaching college students, but definitely not young adolescents, and especially not for an extended period of time.

Do you have any advice or broad strategies for keeping students engaged for 7 hours a day? Of course I'll do labs and group work, but does any know of any game types or specific activities that work well?

Thanks so much for your advice! :D

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 3, 2013

Realize that the average 13 year old has a solid attention span of about half an hour. So I'm glad you have lots of time to plan this-- it's going to really require a lot of planning.

Any idea of what topics you'll be covering? (What did they cover last year??? Knowing that would be a HUGE help!!!)

What materials will you have?

One idea they may find cool: you can start with basic Trig (assuming they have access to at least a scientific calculator.) From there you can teach them polar coordinates. The actual math is pretty easy, and you can get a lot of mileage from it. Once they get the basic idea, you can cover a variety of graph types. What I've done with my kids in the past is have them bring in markers, then assign them to come up with 3 or 4 different "roses" on the same graph-- each should have a different radius. It's easy to do, will eat up some time, and they'll have a pretty cool souvineer.

Oh, and you can spend some time on the Paradoxes-- Zeno's paradox is the first to come to mind, but there are others.

This article someone else posted last night may also inspire you:
    http://www.businessinsider.com/the-...aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=288381481237582