Summary Offenses\Underage Drinking

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by BenSentWings, Jan 17, 2011.

1. BenSentWings

BenSentWings New Member

Jan 17, 2011

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'll start off by saying that I am a current college student going for my Bachelor's degree in History / Political Science. If I want to, which I do, I can take an additional 30 credits plus one additional math course and earn/be eligible to earn a teaching certification in Pennsylvania.

My hang up at the time being is that I had received two under age drinking citations as a minor. These of course don't count as felonies or misdemeanors but I still feel like they carry a negative enough connotation that they could end up as a hindrance if I decide to pursue teaching. . I know how such blemishes on one's record can look and I understand that, however, I'm not a criminal, an outlaw, a drunkard, or social degenerate of any kind. I was a kid and made choices that reflect the typical poor judgment that kids that age often make. Said citations are not indicative of my character.

So far, what I've been able to collect on the issue of underage drinking citations\Summary offenses is that the state of Pennsylvania can not deny anyone the right to earn a teaching certification based on such minor infractions. On the other hand each individual district has complete discretion in regard to how they factor in such elements of an applicant's history.