suggestions for reducing time spent grading

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by SpanishMaestra, Apr 14, 2009.

1. SpanishMaestra

SpanishMaestra New Member

Apr 14, 2009

Hello,

I'm a Spanish Teacher taking a year hiatus because I had twins. Last year was my first year teaching. I would like to know what suggestions people have for reducing the amount of time spent grading. I spent hours grading last year practically every night. It was stressful. Surely there are some shortcuts. Any suggestions??

Thank you in advance!!! :)

3. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Apr 14, 2009

I don't teach HS, but is it possible you could "train" the kids to swap papers and grade certain assignments for you? Something where the answers are right or wrong would be easy for them to handle. You could have them write the number right over the number of questions at the top, and from there you could compute the grade.

4. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Apr 14, 2009

PS....I remember there's a chapter in some book (I think its Tools For Teaching?) that talks about this exact topic. Maybe someone remembers??

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 14, 2009

You don't have to grade every piece of paper which graces your desk. You can scan certain assignments to get a general idea of whether the student understands the material.

You can have students grade their own work or their peer's work. Anything graded this way shouldn't go in the gradebook, though, because you can't be certain that everything was done on the up and up.

You might consider adjusting the scale on which you grade. I grade on a 5-point scale: 4 points for exceeding the standard, 3 points for meeting the standard, 2 points for approaching the standard, 1 point for emergent, 0 points for no attempt or irrelevant work. In many ways it is much easier to grade on this sort of scale because you aren't really counting up errors or anything like that--the score is more holistic in nature.

6. SpanishMaestra