Suggestions for Read-Aloud (3rd grade)

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Kimber16, Dec 10, 2005.

1. Kimber16

Kimber16 New Member

Dec 10, 2005

Hi everyone! I'm a first year teacher with a 2/3 combo, but I only teach 3rd grade reading. We just finished James and the Giant Peach (as a read aloud) and I would love some suggestions on a new book to start. I would like to try a realistic fiction maybe, since the last one was a fantasy. Any ideas?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 10, 2005

Bunnicula, The Secret Garden, Ramona (any), Little House on the Prairie, Shiloh.

Check out www.carolhurst.com and search by grade level.

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Dec 10, 2005

Charlotte's Web..... The best of the best.... It is about a spider. Students are learning and don't even know it. Science facts, character inhancement, the students will beg you to read just a little longer. You can find lots of activities to go along with the book (the worksheets make great seat work after they finish their assignments and if they don't get it completed they can take it home and finish the booklet) www.abcteach.com go to themes, next animals, next spiders. They have free stuff and some you have to pay to be a member, but they have lots of great free stuff. Triumpet of the Swan is also good.

5. luvmykids

luvmykids Companion

Dec 10, 2005

Many of my third graders have just finished reading Little House on the Prairie on their own and they have loved it. I am reading The Lion the Withch and the Waredrobe right now and they are really into it as well.

6. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Dec 10, 2005

My high level students (those on a 3rd grade level or above) are enjoying anything fantasy right now. The love the Magic Tree House series (which is a G.R. level M), The Boxcar Children (I think level O), A Series of Unfortunate Events, and anything by Beverly Cleary.

7. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Dec 10, 2005