Suggestions for math interventions?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Teachnewbie12, Aug 23, 2011.

1. Teachnewbie12

Teachnewbie12 Rookie

Aug 23, 2011

I'm currently a Sped teacher, who is working with lower level students in the 1st grade. Many of these students are lower than my IEP students.

I've noticed that some will say the correct number out loud, but write a completely different number down on a worksheet- or when counting sets, like 2 puppies plus 2 puppies- they will count 1...2...then...1...2...again, instead of continuing to 3...4.

Some also write some of their numbers backwards- could I just have them practice writing 1 through 10 for a little time each day...would that help?

What would work best in assisting them? I've considered Touch Math, but is there anything else I could possibly do to aide them?

The little ones are very new to me, I'm used to the older ones!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

3. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Aug 23, 2011