Suffering from severe depression, struggling...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by WaterfallLady, Feb 25, 2015.

1. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Feb 25, 2015

I'm a special ed teacher, I'm 31. I was diagnosed with anxiety and depression when I was 12, though my drs think I had it sooner. I've always just functioning fine, until last March.

The depression hit like an F5 tornado. It left nothing left of me. I had problems with medications and doctors, and even got a case of seretonin sydrome, which can be fatal. I am on medications but I am just doing so bad.

I started the year subbing because I knew I couldn't do a regular job this year. I took a 6 week assignment that turned into a rest of the year assignment because the teacher couldn't come back.

I don't know what to do. I'm struggling tremendously. I need time to focus on myself. I also need not to burn my bridges.

Advice?

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Feb 25, 2015

Do you have both medical and talk treatments at this time? It sounds like you need that combination to work through your current crisis. I try to compare depression to diabetes; it is real and it can do bad things to you if you don't find the right management plan.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Feb 25, 2015

I found subbing was a job as emotionally taxing as anything I have ever done. I am an optomist and very cheerful, but I could feel depressed over many of the subbing days I had.

For me, going into a stranger's classroom where the students aren't that interested in me, but are interested in what they can get away with now that the real teacher is gone? It was a challenge, and I couldn't imagine doing it with depression. I think you should sit down with your doctor and see what he/she thinks. Your doctor far better understands you and what might be the best job setting for you than I or anyone on this site. Good luck to you.

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Feb 25, 2015