Suddenly Overwhelmed.....:(

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Kimi478, Jul 10, 2008.

1. Kimi478

Kimi478 Rookie

Jul 10, 2008

Well this is my first year teaching and I am truly excited! I am a transitioning into the field after a few years at a large financial company and earning my MBA. I just really wanted to focus on something new and rewarding - and this is it!!!

But today I received the teachers manual's and I am suddenly overwhelmed. Apparently their aren't math books for students - so I have to use these concepts to teach with materials that I don't have and the manual really is horrible - I'm totally lost.

Then the Social Studies manual gives a million and 1 ways to teach - but how can I possibly get all of this information in!

And we don't have reading manuals yet - so who knows about that!

So tell me- how do I not feel so overwhelmed!!!

3. missred4190

missred4190 Comrade

Jul 10, 2008

I feel for you. I feel a little overwhelmed too just because I haven't seen any of the books or materials yet...but I know they are there.

The first thing I would do is talk to other team members or people in your grade level. They should be able to help you come up with a plan or share their plans from the previous year(s). At least this way you have a general idea of what to do and in what order.

4. peachieteachie

peachieteachie Comrade

Jul 10, 2008

I agree with missred. Definitely talk to your teammates and I'm sure they'll give you great ideas! Planning with your team can be very helpful, especially for a first year teacher. I felt the same way my first year of teaching, which was last year, and I am a little overwhelemed this year too since some changes have been made to both our math and social studies curriculum.