Substitution in Ohio

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by cafekarma, May 13, 2014.

1. cafekarma

cafekarma Rookie

May 13, 2014

Hi, everybody! I'm headed back to the US in July and am knee-deep in the process (and stress!) of finding a home for myself when I return. I understand that most of Ohio is currently over-saturated with teachers, but that is where I would like to live because my sister is there. I'm ready to be near family again. So, I would love to live in Columbus or Cincinnati. I have been considering working as a substitute while working on my masters degree. Then I would work my teaching magic in hopes of eventually gaining a full-time contract. My degree is k-k. I'm single, so this would be my only income. My question is this: would it be possible to work as a substitute in the districts surrounding either of these two cities and still be able to feed myself? I want to decide now whether moving to Ohio is worth the gamble, or if I should stick with the plan of moving to North Carolina, which has a greater need to teachers. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

3. K1teach

K1teach Companion

May 13, 2014

I live near Cincinnati and we have a sub shortage. However, I know the pay has decreased in the last several years. :(

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

May 13, 2014

I subbed in the Columbus area for several years and enjoyed it. One of the best places to start, should you come to the center of the state, is the Educational Service Center. They provide subbing for several districts in Franklin County. Columbus City Schools has their own substitute program.

5. cafekarma

cafekarma Rookie

May 13, 2014

Great information! Thank you both. Would it be possible to work though more than one substitute program to make sure that I get as much work as possible?

6. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

May 13, 2014