Substitute Teaching

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Batman15, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Batman15

Batman15 Rookie

Jan 26, 2012

Today, I had a rough day at a very good school, but with a very tough group of students. I am a substitute teacher, therefore I deal with misbehavior on a daily basis. I usually just try to get through the day and if nobody gets hurt I am happy. However, today my classes were extra loud and my attempts to quiet the students didn't help. I had teachers and administrators in and out of my room. I couldn't help but think about what was going through their heads. They probably though t I was completely aloof. Also, I feel like I disappointed some of the students that just wanted to do their work. I know I need to toughen up and get on them more. It is just tough for a sub because the students really don't respect me enough to just get quiet. Plus it is not my lesson and the work left for the students is typically just busy work that they get bored with and start acting up. Any advice for substitute teaching would be appreciated.

3. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jan 26, 2012

Are you allowed to write up students? If so, get a couple write ups and bring them to class. Once you write up enough students, they'll start to take you seriously again.

Unfortunately that's all I can think of because the rest sort of falls on the teacher to make sure the students know how to behave when they're gone.

4. Ms.History

Ms.History Rookie

Jan 27, 2012

I think a more immediate and visual way to get their attention is to instruct the VERY first person who misbehaves (talks after you say no talking, etc.) to have a seat in the hallway. This will show the rest of the class that you mean business, and then once the class is working, you can go talk to the student in the hallway. This a) gives the student a fair shot and b) leaves the admin. out which could possibly impress them.
    It worked for me, so just a suggestion! Good luck!

5. Caesar753