Substitute teaching in California - worth it ?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by VB2020, Jan 24, 2020.

1. VB2020

VB2020 New Member

Jan 24, 2020

Hi all,

So a bit of background about me. In my previous life I used to work as a corporate lawyer in Singapore (Asia) I very much disliked my profession. So I left in 2016, and have been pretty much a housewife since then. Ive been wanting to dive into teaching for a very long time, and I figured it's now or never. I currently live in SF Bay area ( California) and wanted to get into teaching. Financially I think we can scrimp and save and make it work !

I wanted to understand a few things. I am not from America so I don't have a wide network of people to talk to about teaching as a career, so I'm looking for advice from you guys !

- Is substitute teaching a good introduction of day to day life in the classroom?
    - is it easy to make contacts while substitute teaching for future jobs ?
    - I was told to apply for a 30 day permit by the Mountain View school district folks. Does that mean I can only work 30 days in one year ??
    - what other roles/options should I explore ? What other part time jobs would you recommend ? Can you give tips on the job titles to look for, as this will greatly help in my search !
    - are there any folks who have graduated from Stanford's STEP program on here ? I'd love to message you and learn more

Thanks a lot in advance

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 24, 2020

Welcome to A to Z, VB2020.

It's generally the case in California that substituting is a fine way to get a feel for a district and a school: schools that treat their substitutes humanely are generally decent places for everyone else as well. And, yes, you may find it a good way to make contacts.