Substitute Teaching Dilemma, please advise!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by heyitssteph, Oct 2, 2013.

1. heyitssteph

heyitssteph Rookie

Oct 2, 2013

Hi all,

I am a young professional turned graduate student hoping to become a certified middle school or high school teacher. I have just started substitute teaching in the inner city in charter schools. I figured it would be good experience even though I don't know if I am cut out for inner city teaching in the long term.

Long story short I am really struggling. I have been getting feedback saying that I am not tough enough on the kids (I've taught elementary, middle and high school so far.) Today I worked in the elementary grades and at the end of the day, one of the assistant teachers gave me a bad report because she was yelling at the kids the whole time, trying to discipline them for every little thing, and I was more laid back. I know I am a naturally warm, friendly, and upbeat person and I am afraid that this will hurt me in the classroom because students will take advantage of my kindness.

Do you all think that maybe I should reconsider my plans to be a teacher? Or do you think the tough inner city school environment is maybe getting to me, and I'd be better off in a different type of setting?

Any feedback is much appreciated! Thanks guys :)

3. microbe

microbe Comrade

Oct 3, 2013

I decided to substitute teach first too. I think it's way too early to come to any conclusions yet! Keep on going and make sure to think of this time as a learning experience. You'll discover what works best for you and the students.

I'd definitely take the advice other teachers give you and try to improve. I learned a lot and changed a lot while I was subbing, and I think it was for the better. You can still be a sweet teacher and be strict. Make sure to enforce the teacher's rules and not let the kids have a free pass for the day.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 3, 2013