Substitute Teacher passed over for Teaching position?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by JMC2017, Jul 31, 2017.

1. JMC2017

JMC2017 Rookie

Jul 31, 2017

I was wondering how often this sort of thing happens?

A little backstory, I graduated in 2012 with my P-4th certification. I did not try to get a job after graduation, my husband and I wanted to have another baby. I have stayed home with my child until he went to preschool last year. I applied for a open position at the school where I live and the principal told me, "We just don't know you very well, come sub with us for a year and reapply next year." So that is exactly what I did. I was there to sub almost every day, I did a long term sub position for a maternity leave. I was even hired as a long term sub for a special needs student. Everything seemed great, I had no complaints that I was aware of. I was the most requested sub there at school, and many teachers said they put in a good word for me for a position this year.

Well, here we are at the end of the hiring season. The school I subbed for had 3 open positions! I was called to interview. The principal said she did not want to take a long time interviewing me since she already knew me. I have been passed over for all 3 positions at the school. One teacher, who got the job was fresh out of school with no experience at all. There is nothing wrong with that, my point is that it can't be my lack of experience.

I guess what I am asking is, has anyone had this happen to them before? Thanks in advance!

Leaborb192 likes this.
  3. stask81

stask81 Rookie

Jul 31, 2017