Subject area ela 6-12 written

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Jess P, Oct 1, 2019.

1. Jess P

Jess P New Member

Oct 1, 2019

Hello,

I have until 6/20 to meet all necessary requirements for my professional teaching certificate. I am an ELA 6-12 teacher and have never failed any of the required tests, let alone any written portion. Unfortunately, I scored a 6 which is shocking. I am contesting this score and am waiting for a response. Regardless, I will need to retake the written portion again. Would someone please help me with any and all information you can share? They no longer give you 2 choices (CONTESTING THIS AS WELL). I did not have an opportunity to choose poetry as there was only one excerpt taken from a well-known novel. Thank you.

3. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Companion

Oct 1, 2019

So, you were only prepared for poetry? I understand wanting a choice, however, in an ELA classroom, you will be teaching multiple items, especially novels, and I can understand why they would expect a prosepctive ELA teacher to write about whatever was given to them. First, I think contesting is wrong--from my perspective, it looks like someone who wasn't prepared for the test and then complains that they failed. Writing for these tests is pretty standard, regardless of poetry, drama, novel, etc, so if you could write about poetry, why can you not write about a novel, especially if the excerpt was provided to you. And if it was was well-known, I guess the assumption is that a prospective ELA teacher would have read it. I would study again, and prepare to write whatever comes your way.

4. Jess P

Jess P New Member

Oct 1, 2019

My concern was not being given the choice. I’m contesting the fact that nowhere on the website did the department stare the requirements had changed.

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Oct 1, 2019