Subbing to get foot in the door.

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Tchr, Aug 19, 2012.

1. Tchr

Tchr Rookie

Aug 19, 2012

I have been told by many people to substitute teach as a way to get my foot in the door. What is your view/experience with this? Has it helped anyone tremendously? I put myself through school, even during student teaching with an outside, unrelated job and am nervous about possibly quitting my other job to become a substitute teacher in the hopes that it will increase my chances for getting my own classroom. Please let me know what you all think! Thank you.

3. HistTchr

HistTchr Habitué

Aug 19, 2012

It definitely helps. I subbed a lot in my hometown during my senior year of college. Even though I got hired in another district right after I graduated, subbing helped me establish connections throughout the town. In fact, one of the teachers at my former elementary school asked me to be her long-term sub when she was going on maternity leave. (I would have loved to do it, but I was only a senior in college and was student teaching that upcoming spring.)

Subs at my school have been hired as long-term subs and for permanent positions. It won't hurt to do it!

4. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Aug 19, 2012

Subbing didn't really help me get my first teaching job, but it helped me be ready. Of course it probably helped in the interview, it showed that I had experience in the classroom. I found it very valuable to sub right out of college for the experience in different grade levels to find where I was really comfortable.

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 19, 2012

I subbed for 2 years and still had to move 750 miles for a job.

Being a TA/para is a much better 'in' than subbing is. If you cannot find a TA position, subbing is better than nothing.

Good luck!

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2012

Is your 'other job' helping you build your teaching resume or hone your skills in the classroom?

7. missml

missml Rookie