Subbing or Teaching Assistant?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Joelg1980, Jan 21, 2010.

1. Joelg1980

Joelg1980 Companion

Jan 21, 2010

Hi all!

My name is Joel, and I am a recent college graduate with my teacher's degree (May 2009). I did not obtain a full time job before school started, and I have been subbing since August. I love it because I have met so many teachers and seen so many teaching styles-not to mention the vast variety of students I have met. It's just that there is something missing for me....

I need full time work!!! I resisted taking an assistant's job early on because more than a few teachers I spoke to said that districts don't like to hire assistants as teachers, especially if they are good, which I would hope to be.

The year is half over now, and I have not seen much of anything come open, save for some assistants' jobs. What do you all think-should I look for the full time work while losing the experiences of the classrooms, or should I stay subbing and have a full year's experience under my belt for next year?

Thanks-as a new teacher I don't exactly have a cohort of teachers for advice and support, and I really respect your opinions.

Joel

3. MissH225

MissH225 Comrade

Jan 22, 2010

It all really depends on where your at. The school corporation I was with last year and the new corporation I teach in this year are known for hiring aides as teachers if they are certified and do a good job.

I also think it depends on what kind of person you are. If when you sub you are talking to principals and teacher and going back to the same schools over and over again then I'd say you are making connections and hopefully they will remember you (if your reminding them you are looking for a job)etc. However if you are just subbing wherever you can job and not making connections I'd say look for an aide job. It's easier to build relationships if you're in the same place.