Subbing in a Kindergarten class for the first time ever.

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by JoStar, Feb 23, 2009.

1. JoStar

JoStar Rookie

Feb 23, 2009

Hello, folks!

I am subbing in a kindergarten class tomorrow, and again in a week or two...I'm a little nervous, because I have never been in a classroom with students younger than 14! Any tips or advice? I think it will be just fine, and probably very fun (and adorable!), but I was wondering if any one had any tips/strategies/filler activities they could suggest.

Thanks!

3. jspader02

jspader02 Rookie

Feb 23, 2009

get lots of sleep - my phrase for them is kindergarbage. hehe - they are cute, but my oh my are they a handful! by all means I'm not that experienced, but I've found that praise is my number one tool for the younger kids. if they are a little chatty just start off with "wow look everyone, so and so is sitting nice and quietly, GREAT JOB! who else do i see that's sitting there with their hands folded, sitting quietly, etc" and everyone will want to follow and be the best they can be.

they are just so spacey...lol i honestly would give anyone an award who can handle kindergarten on a day to day basis. I'm curious though about what anyone else would suggest on ways to deal with kindergartners.

4. GlendaLL

GlendaLL Aficionado

Feb 23, 2009

By now, the kindergarteners are used to the daily routine. Since the sub won't know every little detail of the routine, this will upset some of these kiddos.

Just reassure them that even if things aren't exactly the same as when Mrs. RegularTeacher does it, it's OK!

5. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Feb 23, 2009

Wear comfy shoes! Good Luck!

6. myownwoman

myownwoman Habitué

Feb 23, 2009

Have fun!

7. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Feb 23, 2009

Expect a lot of hugs!

8. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Feb 23, 2009