Subbing/Discipline Problems

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Librarianman, Dec 17, 2019.

1. Librarianman

Librarianman New Member

Dec 17, 2019

First, a huge shout-out to teachers who have to deal with this kind of thing I'm going to mention every day, all day.

I am a librarian in a 4-8 grade school; this is my fourth year, and I'm 50. That said, I'm constantly being asked to sub for the middle school. At least one period every day. When I do, it's a nightmare: most classes are extremely rude, talkative, silly, cross- and or back talking. Very little work gets done. I have no authority, and very little to threaten them with. Their teachers know this; you can write down as many names as you wish, have conversations with the teachers after, but nothing changes. The kids that do get office write-ups generally will only get warnings, and so it stays the same.

My question is: how do you not let this mess up your whole day? I'm finding that I'm getting so upset, so angry, that my entire day is ruined because of a handful of kids who pressed my buttons. Yes, I know I'm supposed to be the adult and be able to handle my emotions, but it is wearing me down. It makes me mad at the school, at the students, even at the prospect of doing anything extra for anybody. I was going to go the basketball game after school today, but you know what: I said screw it, and I went home. I know it's not all the kids, just some of them, and I do treasure the nice ones, but like I said, it's killing my spirit. Only after about five or six hours do I calm down. Today's incident happened at 1:00 today and I'm still upset about it at almost 6:00.

(Outside of more obvious stuff, like seeing a therapist, doing hard drugs, and/or drinking...(joke)) -- what are some coping mechanisms?

Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
    ThatWouldBeBaaaaad likes this.
  3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Dec 17, 2019