Subbed in middle school for 6th grade...

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by harrysmom, Oct 24, 2007.

1. harrysmom

harrysmom Rookie

Oct 24, 2007

I've been a certified teacher for the past ten years, but I taught younger kids, 3rd and 4th grade. Yesterday I subbed in midddle school for a 6th grade english teacher. I always thought that I might like to try teaching middle school, but after yesterday, I'm not sure. The kids weren't that bad...they were talkative and didn't want to work, but I thought that was because I'm a sub. But when I walked down the hallway on my prep, I noticed that most of the classrooms were noisy and teachers were yelling. My question is this...was my experience typical of middle school? Half of the class worked and half fooled around in each class period. They didn't raise their hands to answer questions, they just yelled out answers. When I got angry and raised my voice, they stopped fooling around and did their work, but they started up again soon after (not all the students. just some in each class period). I can be pretty strict, so the class was never out of control, but I don't want a job where I have to be a disciplinarian every minute. Was my experience typical of middle school, or was it because I'm a sub, or is it because I'm used to the younger grades? I want to know if I should give up on middle school or give it another try....
    By the way...the faculty in this school was amazing. They were extremely friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed working with them. They were also extremely dedicated...as I was leaving for the day, I saw every teacher in their classroom with students offering extra help. Advice?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 24, 2007