Sub Plans

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Elizabeth09, Mar 13, 2016.

1. Elizabeth09

Elizabeth09 Rookie

Mar 13, 2016

I am a first year teacher and one thing I hate is making sub plans. How do you guys prepare your plans? Do you have the subs teach the lessons you would be teaching, or plan something completely different? I would love to hear how others handle this, and even see samples if you'd like to share!

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Mar 13, 2016

I usually leave an activity, such as worksheets or book work, the kids can do with minimal teaching time. I do not have the sub teach something they have never seen before.

If you type and save your sub plans, you can edit as needed for the next time you need a sub.

teachsph2008 and czacza like this.
  4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Mar 13, 2016

This is exactly what I do.

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Mar 13, 2016

Agree with the top two posts. I leave something engaging that doesn't need someone to teach it. I have saved sub plans explaining the normal day-to-day (bell schedule, lunch, procedures, etc) and I edit the part on what the classes should do. I also always leave "student helpers" to help take role, set up technology, etc. They know who they are and they are listed in the plans. I always inform them ahead of time to make sure they'll be there to help out.

6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Mar 13, 2016