Students with ED and Finding Balance

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by sunbeachgirl, Oct 15, 2012.

1. sunbeachgirl

sunbeachgirl Rookie

Oct 15, 2012

Dedicating time to students

Hello everyone,
    I'm a high school resource teacher and see my students for one period a day (they are in gen ed for the rest of the day). I have two students who are depressed and it seems like they take up all of my time. Today I had to leave my aide alone with my class while I dealt with a crying meltdown outside. When the students are in my class, I have to sit next to them or they get NOTHING done.
    My other students are beginning to ask why I spend so much time with the other students and "ignore" them. Sadly, my aide is unable to deal with any of these situations. He taught in a high-stress school and had a total nervous breakdown so he avoids any difficult situations like the plague.

How do you find a balance and dedicate equal amounts of time to all students?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 15, 2012

It's never going to be equal amounts for all. :(Some kids need more from you....but no one should need so much attention that some get none.

4. sunbeachgirl

sunbeachgirl Rookie

Oct 15, 2012

Yes, of course I understand that. I try to help everyone, but if I leave these students alone for too long they will not get anything done. It's a shame.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Oct 15, 2012

Do you think that there might be some attention-seeking behaviors or manipulation going on?

Have you tried rewarding students for working independently?

6. sunbeachgirl

sunbeachgirl Rookie

Oct 18, 2012

It's possible. I know they need attention and like getting attention from me. Whenever I propose that they work with my aide, they say they suddenly don't need help anymore.
    I like the idea of rewarding students for working independently.

7. NickiMacaroni

NickiMacaroni Rookie

Oct 21, 2012