Students who Talk Back

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ll1301, Nov 8, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Nov 8, 2013

I have a HUGE problem with students talking back in class. I am a first year teacher in first grade, and I am AMAZED at how rude these kids are. They are disrespectful too. When they are doing something wrong, and I re-direct them, they ALWAYS back talk me. They will be talking and I will say, "Please stop talking" or "Please don't talk while I am talking" and they will reply with "I wasn't talking!" when clearly, they were the ones talking. I have a huge issue with whining and complaining too. When we transition to a different activity, they will complain and say "awwwww" like they are complaining and seem uninterested. I have been trying so hard to get this under control, because I am scared to death I will have an issue when I am observed by my principal. What advice do you have when dealing with talking back, complaining, and disrespectful students?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 8, 2013

"I wasn't talking"... You are now, sweetie. Stop please.:D
    The whining...I tell them there's no whining in __ grade....then ignore them and move on.
    Fist graders generally want to please. Manage behaviors and keep it moving...praise kids who are doing the right thing. The ones who aren't misbehaving will get the hint.

4. EMonkey

EMonkey Connoisseur

Nov 8, 2013