Students who go over and beyond with projects!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by TheNumberOne, Nov 19, 2009.

1. TheNumberOne

TheNumberOne Rookie

Nov 19, 2009

Hello all,
    I'm an eighth grade ELA teacher, and I assign at least 3 projects a quarter. All of my students like to go over and beyond with the projects, and I feel bad giving them just a 100! Most times, I give them 105's ... if they go over and beyond.

Can you all suggest any tips to be more generous when it comes to projects? Because when I say the students go wild with projects they go WILD! One student spent at least $75 in material for a project that was worth just 10 percent of his final average. :blush:

3. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Nov 20, 2009

I guess my question would be whether or not the students are mastering whatever concept or skill you are assessing with the project. I, for one, have pretty much abandoned "projects," because what I seemed to be assessing was the students' (or parents') ability with arts and crafts, not their ability to show me what they've learned.
    Not trying to be snarky... just wondering.

4. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Nov 20, 2009

If the project represents the learned material exceptionally well is there a place you can display it at the school? We have a space by our principal's office where exceptional work can be put out for the rest of the school to see. Giving that recognition can be worth so much to a student.

5. TheNumberOne

TheNumberOne Rookie

Nov 20, 2009

The projects convey the material, and conveys it pretty well too!

MsMar, our school art teachers have display cases around the school where their students' works can be displayed, but generally, we can only display them on the walls of our classroom, and in this one display case for our team. Otherwise, after being graded, they are shown in the class for about a week, and they go home.

6. Ranchwife

Ranchwife Companion

Nov 20, 2009