Students being held back..how do I not feel like it's my fault?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LMichele, Jun 21, 2012.

1. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Jun 21, 2012

I've been doing remedial reading with 3 grades of students. I see each small group 2-3 times a week. I've been working with them only for a few months.

A handful (less than 4) of my students are in danger of being held back if they don't pass summer school. One is definitely being left back. I don't give grades since it was a remedial program, and this was based on all of their other classes.

I'm very surprised. In my class, a few of these kids are my strongest. I guess that's strong evidence as to how well kids respond in small groups.

As a new teacher, how do I not take this so personally? I feel like this is MY fault and that I didn't do a good enough job helping these kids. My heart breaks for them.

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Jun 21, 2012

If you did all you could and students were making progress in your class, then there is no reason to feel down. You cannot follow them into each of their classrooms and ensure that they are doing their work and doing it correctly. Eventually they have to learn to learn on their own and if it takes them a few years to realize that, then there is nothing you can do about it.

You are their teacher, not their mother. Eventually the student has to pick up the baton on their own and take control of their own learning, especially if these kids are making progress in your class as you say.

4. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Jun 21, 2012