Students always talking Classroom Management Nightmare

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by missthomasccms, Nov 17, 2015.

1. Nov 17, 2015

I'm in my first year working as a 7th grade ELA teacher. My middle school runs on a block schedule which has four blocks a day approx. 85 minutes each. Both my first and third blocks have been pretty easy to manage, but my fourth block class has been trouble since the semester started. I have tried so many things with them and nothing seems to work. Here is a list of some of the things I've done:
    - General classroom management (seating arrangements, calling/emailing parents, talks with students, sending to office, etc)
    - Ticket system for rewarding good behavior via prize drawings
    - Chances to earn free time in class (strike system and minute system)
    - Having the principal come in and lecture the class
    - Sending kids to the office one after the other

I have tried everything thing I know to get them to settle down but they are very rowdy, talkative, and disrespectful. A lot of the teachers that have been here longer even struggle with them but my class seems to be the worse due to the kids that got put in there together. I have 27 kids. Of those about 8 generally do what they're told without much trouble. About ten of them are the ones causing such chaos and I try to separate them, but the other 6 students will go along with them. They are unfortunately in long tables with 5-7 students at each table. This isn't something I can change.