student w/ low comprehension and cooking class

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by readytoteach!, Oct 20, 2006.

1. readytoteach!

readytoteach! Rookie

Oct 20, 2006

Hi, I am a new sped teacher. I was approached by the cooking teacher at my high school about a student on my caseload who was having a hard time in class. He has a hard time understanding spoken and written directions. She is concerned because it is a large class, and she needs to spend a lot of time assisting him and his group, while other kids do not get assistance. One thing that worries her is that it is a fast paced glass with fire and knives, and keeping everyone safe.
    I was wondering if anyone had any suggesstions of what modifications can be done to help the class run smoother for everyone
    Thanks

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Oct 20, 2006

Can she break down a task into even smaller parts? The class pace has nothing to do with it. If the child needs help, then the teacher must provide help or give the student something to do that he can be succesful with. Can she give him picture directions? How about a partner to work with? I think this cooking teacher is looking for an out, don't give in. Simply say how can we simplify the task. Perhaps the student could be involved in other parts of food prep that don't involve knives... or someone could be there to spot him. It's do able. I work with devel. disabled adults who perform cooking tasks all the time. Patience is a must.

4. IN TRAINING

IN TRAINING Rookie

Oct 30, 2006

HELP IN COOKING CLASS

Hi