Student Teaching vs. Intern Program

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by Rookiewithexperience, Feb 9, 2017.

1. Rookiewithexperience

Rookiewithexperience New Member

Feb 9, 2017

I would like to know peoples routes and experiences in either student teaching or an intern program.

My background:
    I would like to know if those who student taught felt that it was wasteful as in they felt that they could have been okay to jump into a classroom without student teaching. Please be honest. I know subbing is very different than a real teacher but I've been doing this for four years, my mom ( teacher) and I are extremely close gives me some hope that I can do this without student teaching. Please offer me some advise.
    where I currently am:
    I have passed my Csets, and tpa 1 but would need my TPA 2 and 3 as well. and I still need the RICA :(
    is the paperwork while working really difficult? again, please be realistic. empower me to decide what I feel I can do.. thank you. experiences please

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Feb 9, 2017

It honestly depends on the program you're entering to get certified. Teachers for America doesn't require pre-service time, and your previous experience could take you a long way.

4. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Feb 9, 2017

Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 9, 2017

The difference in California generally isn't between student teaching and internship but between a credential program and internship. Credential programs include student teaching but they offer much more - for one thing, a credential program is the likeliest setting for most of us to learn the content that RICA tests.

A district might be willing to work with the OP on that, however.

6. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Feb 9, 2017