Student Teaching vs Alternate Route

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Hazel QT, Sep 2, 2008.

1. Hazel QT

Hazel QT Rookie

Sep 2, 2008

I am currently a senior completing my undergraduate studies in English Literature. I have decided to take the alternate route to getting my teaching license. However, I have been hearing some good and bad aspects of my decision. Despite the things I have been hearing, I feel that I can deal with the things my decision may bring my way because I grew up around the teaching profession because my mom was a teacher for twenty plus years and I was in her classroom several hours a day and understood the things she went through as a teacher.

However, I am interested in any advice that you all may have. What are the advantages and disadvantages of my choice? Would student teaching better prepare me for the classroom?

Thanks for all comments and advice

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 2, 2008

Hazel-Is there an alternative certification program where you can get your student teaching? My sister did this and got a job not a month after she finished. Some districts look at student teaching as experience and will hire them over alternative cert applicants, some districts don't look at that and just look at qualifications.

4. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

Sep 2, 2008