Student Teacher with a question

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Teacher coach, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Teacher coach

Teacher coach Rookie

Jul 1, 2013

Hi folks. I will be student teaching in Fall of 2013 and I plan to attend staff development and teacher work days leading up to day 1. What can I expect from these days and how should I dress during these days (I'm a Physical Education instructor). Thanks!

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 1, 2013

Show up a few days before contract and ask your CT. Then dress a bit nicer than that.

4. Teacher coach

Teacher coach Rookie

Jul 1, 2013

Thanks! I plan on getting with CT a few times before school starts to learn about schedule, disciplinary action, and learn about her teaching philosophy.

5. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Jul 1, 2013

Wear comfortable casual clothing to the first meeting. Don't dress up, but look coordinated. The principal will be there and sometimes higher-ups show up to greet staff and make announcements.

6. Teacher coach

Teacher coach Rookie

Jul 1, 2013

Ok, thank you.

7. EMonkey

EMonkey Connoisseur

Jul 2, 2013

You probably will be helping set up the classroom and/or sitting around listening to a long meeting. Dress comfortably with clothes you will not be heart broken if they get messed up.

8. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 2, 2013

I actually do think that you should dress up, at least to the point of business casual. Khaki or dress pants, a button-up shirt and tie or a knit top (not sure if you're a man or woman), that sort of thing. The first few days of your first teaching experience is not the time to be wearing jeans, track suits, shorts, or loungewear.

9. Ted

Ted Habitué

Jul 2, 2013

I'm agreeing with Caesar - perhaps Khakis/Dockers and a nice button-down shirt (short- or long-sleeve, depending on weather). Tie should be your discretion. Look polished.