Student teacher in my room

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Curiouscat, Nov 6, 2011.

1. Curiouscat

Curiouscat Comrade

Nov 6, 2011

I am absolutely thrilled to be hosting a student teacher this January!! I have known this person for a few years and feel confident this will be a great learning experience for both of us.

I would appreciate any advice as to how to make this a good experience. Having never done this I am sure there are things I have never thought about. Thanks!

3. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Nov 6, 2011

Being a 2nd year teacher I've never had a ST, but I have been a ST myself recently. :) I would say the number one thing is to have that balance between letting the ST have control and try out their own strategies and also be willing to help them out when they need it. My CT was GREAT at letting me take full control- we were supposed to send lesson plans ahead of time to have them approved, but she told me right from day 1 that I would never learn if she sat there and redid my lesson plan every time- she wanted me to just try out what I had and I'd learn through experience what needed to be changed. What a great experience! On the other hand, sometimes she was supposed to fill out feedback forms for me and she really refused to say anything negative. She kept saying that I needed to figure out for myself what I wanted to improve on. We had a really good relationship (we still talk all the time even though I now teach in another state) and I think she didn't want to damage that. Although I really appreciate her letting me do everything on my own, constructive critisism can be really helpful too! I think you have to find the balance between letting them get out there and giving them feedback when appropriate.