Student Teacher- Feeling like I don't fit in

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by StudentTeacher90, Aug 17, 2017.

1. StudentTeacher90

StudentTeacher90 New Member

Aug 17, 2017

Hi everyone!
    I am new to the site and this is my first time writing a post, so I hope that I am doing it correctly! I am in need of some advice!

I recently started my student teaching semester in a first grade classroom. So far I am really enjoying the teaching aspect of student teaching and my Cooperating Teacher is great. The problem is, I really feel like I am not fitting in with the other teachers, especially during lunch in the teacher's lounge and recess. All the teachers have all taught 20+ years and are the best of friends. They are nice, but I feel that I come across as super shy and quiet because no one talks to me and I do not know how to insert myself into their conversations. The teachers don't really acknowledge me when I am around and they only talk to one another. I just stand to the side and listen. I am the only student teacher in the building and I just really feeling left out. Is this a normal feeling for student teachers? Does it get better? What can I do to fit in better?

I appreciate any input! Thank you so so much!!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2017

I had a student teacher this year to whom I recommended to not eat in the faculty room. It's s place where teachers let their hair down. And I told her if she did go, she should keep her eyes open and mouth shut for the most part. There are conversations of which you are not and should not be a part . Do not 'insert' yourself into conversations. Eat your lunch, smile, make small talk at the most and then excuse yourself and go prepare for your next lesson.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2017
  4. StudentTeacher90

Aug 17, 2017