Student Surveys as Part of Evaluation

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by KinderCowgirl, Jun 8, 2013.

1. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jun 8, 2013

I'm wondering if other elementary schools anywhere are implementing this plan. I was reading that a local district wants to make this 25% of a teacher's evaluation. Personally I don't understand it-especially for young kids. For high school maybe, but I think at any age a child's perception of what makes a "good" teacher is very skewed. For example-my most challenging student this year said to me yesterday that she wished I'd go work at another school because I'm so mean to her. Why am I mean? Because I give consequences for her behavior. That's her perception-I'm a bad teacher because I'm mean. I know even on a college level my sister struggles with having to defend herself when a student gives her a poor evaluation because they don't like the books she chose for their syllabus or there were too many papers required.:rolleyes:

Does anyone else have this as part of their evaluation? What kind of questions do they ask the kids?

3. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Jun 8, 2013

That is right out of the Michelle Rhee play book and I can't fathom how anyone could think this is a good idea. Even in Rhee's book, she admits that she asked kids about this and they, themselves, were concerned that some kids will score a teacher low if s/he makes the work too challenging. For goodness sake, I've had kids actually tell me that they were purposely going to fail the state test to "get a teacher fired."

If students are evaluating teachers, I envision lots of fun Fridays, easy tests, missed deadline forgiveness, and threats that sound like: "If you don't stop giving so much homework, I'm going give you a low grade."

4. TnKinder

TnKinder Companion

Jun 8, 2013