Student self check and goal setting

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 3rdGradeHeaven, Jul 22, 2011.

1. 3rdGradeHeaven

3rdGradeHeaven New Member

Jul 22, 2011

Hi! This is my first time posting and I am hoping you wonderful teachers can help me. I am looking for a way to help my students keep track of their own grades and set goals for themselves. I'd like each student to be able to keep a running record of their test and independent work grades. I am hoping this would help them be more accountable for their own work and help them set goals for themselves. How can they keep track of this information? Thank you in advance for your help!:)

3. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2011

My school does this for everything. I love it! It definitely keeps the students more accountable and provides great intrinsic motivation. It's always surprising to us when we get middle of the year transfers and the kids have no idea what reading level they're on!

I'll tell you how the gen ed teachers do theirs since my IEP goal system won't be relevant to you :). They have a binder for each student. Each binder has a tab for each subject.
    Reading: The students keep a bar graph of their reading level throughout the year. We use LBD, so the levels are letters. At the beginning of the year, their sheet will say "I am currently at a level D, and I want to be at a level M by the end of the school year" or whatever on it. Then everytime the teacher retests levels (at least 4 times a year) the student fills in what level they are on their bar graph. They also keep all of their test scores in a little list in the binder.
    Spelling: Students keep a list of scores to see if they are improving.
    Writing: Students keep samples and scored rubrics, and they have a little chart that shows their number grade (we use the 1-4 system) so they can track their progress over the year.