Student Perceptions

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by lolal, Oct 26, 2015.

1. lolal

lolal New Member

Oct 26, 2015

Hello. I am currently in my second year teaching in a public school (5th year teaching overall), and it has been, for the most part, a really positive experience. However, my neighboring teacher is making (albeit indirectly) my life very difficult. The students have a perception (an accurate one, from what I hear) that her classes don't do anything. Thus, I have one group in particular who is constantly uncooperative and complaining to my administration to switch out of my class. My principal had asked me why students were asking her to switch out, so I told her (in person, not in writing) that there is a perception that other classes don't do as much work. She seemed to have understood what I was saying. Now, whenever a student asks, I say, "We are all following the same curriculum. Other classes won't be any different," as our curriculum is very structured, with project assignments and all.

Here's what I've done so far:
    • Seating arrangements to surround the worst students with the better students
    • Kept in close contact with the parents of particularly negative students
    • Submitted discipline referrals, which result in detentions
    • Illustrated the curriculum to students to show them that, according to the district, we are doing what we should be doing.
    Has anyone else ever experienced something like this? I have no behavioral issues in my other classes; just this one. The teacher is already on an "action plan." I'm kind of at my wit's end with them.

3. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Oct 26, 2015

I am not sure I am in the "same" situation per se, but I might be in a similar one. I am one of a very few teachers who holds very high expectations for the students - meaning, the dress code must be followed, no cell phones out/visible (let alone in use), etc.........